zum Inhalt zur Navigation


(c)Andreas Jakwerth
© Andreas Jakwerth

Sonia Dvořák

The American Sonia Dvořák received her training at the Ithaca Ballet and at Canada’s National Ballet School Toronto. She won the Christopher Ondaatje Award 2010 and the Peter Dwyer Award 2011. Yaroslav Ivanenko and Heather Jurgensen engaged her as a soloist at the Kiel Ballet in 2011, where she made her debut as Clara in »The Nutcracker« and appeared in numerous other leading roles, including Marilyn Monroe in »The Fall M.M.«. From 2014 to 2020 Sonia Dvořák was a member of the Ballett am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg, where she danced the female lead roles in George Balanchine’s »Duo Concertant«, »Mozartiana« and »Square Dance«, the principal role in Hans van Manen’s »Polish Pieces«, the First Princess in Martin Schläpfer’s »Swan Lake« as well as ballets by Robert Binet, August Bournonville, Martin Chaix, Mats Ek, William Forsythe, Martha Graham, Natalia Horecna, Jiří Kylián, Ohad Naharin, Jerome Robbins and Uwe Scholz. For the Ballett am Rhein young artist’s platform »Young Moves« she created her first choreography with »Our Discontent« in 2018, another followed in 2022 with »Die Qual(len)« for »Plattform Choreographie« of the Vienna State Ballet. Since the 2020/21 season Sonia Dvořák has been a demi-soloist with Vienna State Ballet. Due to her outstanding interpretations in van Manen's »Adagio Hammerklavier«, Schläpfer's »4« as well as Balanchine's »Duo Concertant« and »Emeralds« from »Jewels«, she was promoted to soloist for the 2021/22 season. In this rank she danced, among others, Lise in Frederick Ashton's »La Fille mal gardée«, Princess Aurora in Martin Schläpfer’s»The Sleeping Beauty«, Olga in John Cranko's »Onegin«, Peasant Pas de deux in Elena Tchernichova's »Giselle«, friend of the prince, little swan and Polish dance (soloist) in Rudolf Nureyevʼs »Swan Lake«, Kitriʼs friend, Amor and Street dancer in Nureyevʼs »Don Quixote«, Alexei Ratmansky's »Pictures at an Exhibition«, Hans van Manenʼs »Four Schumann Pieces«, George Balanchine's »Symphony in Three Movements«, »Symphony in C«, »Liebeslieder Walzer« and »Brahms-Schoenberg Quartet«, Ohad Naharin's »Tabula Rasa«, William Forsytheʼs »In the Middle, Somewhat Elevated« and works by Martin Schläpfer such as two pairs in the world premiere of »The Sleeping Beauty« and the solo »Ramifications«.

Upcoming performances

No performances scheduled at this time